My Writing Community

Because our work is largely solitary, every writer needs a writing community. While solitude is essential for writers, too much of it can descend into loneliness, which is downright debilitating. The following links will take you to the organizations, inspiring blogs, and all-around great people I turn to when I need guidance, advice, assistance, inspiration, moral support, and, perhaps most important of all, wonderful writing I can get lost in. I know I’ve probably missed some and I’m always finding more, so I’ll update this page regularly. In the meantime, visit my peeps and places.   Myrl.


The Writers Union of Canada    http://www.writersunion.ca

The Writers Guild of Alberta    https://writersguild.ca

Creative Nonfiction Collective Society    http://creativenonfictioncollective.ca

Banff Literary Arts Program    https://www.banffcentre.ca/literary-arts

Sage Hill Writing Experience   http://www.sagehillwriting.ca

Peter Midgley   http://midgley.ca

Kimmy Beach  http://www.kimmybeach.com

Helen Moffett  http://helenmoffett.bookslive.co.za/blog/

Alissa York  http://alissayork.com

Merilyn Simmonds  http://www.merilynsimonds.com

Zsuzsi Gardner  http://www.zsuzsigartner.com

Charlotte Gill  http://charlottegill.com

Steven Heighton  http://www.stevenheighton.com

Katherine Koller  http://www.katherinekoller.ca

Margaret McPherson  http://www.margaretmacpherson.com

Angie Abdou   http://abdou.ca

Joann Dionne  http://joanndionne.ca

Kerry Clare  http://picklemethis.com

Shaun Hunter   http://shaunhunter.ca

Marina Endicott  http://marinaendicott.com

Myrna Kostash http://www.myrnakostash.com